Cochlear Limited, Centennial, Colo, announced the winners of the 13th annual Graeme Clark and the 4th annual Anders Tjellstrom scholarships. The scholarships, named after 2 pioneers of the hearing implant industry, recognize Cochlear Nucleus Implant and Baha System recipients who demonstrate exemplary academics, leadership, and humanity. Five students were awarded Graeme Clark Scholarships, and 3 students were awareded Anders Tjellstrom Scholarships. The winners were formally recognized during the Cochlear Celebration event in Orlando, Florida on February 14, 2015.

Attended by more than 1,000 guests, the Cochlear Celebration was a three-day event hosted by Cochlear to provide Nucleus and Baha System recipients and their families the opportunity to learn and network with others who have had similar experiences.

“We are extremely proud to honor these outstanding young people who have shown perseverance and leadership, while benefiting from Cochlear’s state-of-the-art technologies,” said Chris Smith, president of Cochlear Americas. “These students represent the leaders of tomorrow, and we look forward to seeing what the future holds for each and every one of them.”

According to the announcement from Cochlear Limited, the Graeme Clark Scholarship is named after the pioneer of the multichannel cochlear implant. The Anders Tjellstrom Scholarship is named after the research physician at the Department of Otolaryngology at Sahlgrenska University Hospital in Sweden who collaborated with Per-Ingvar Branemark, a pioneer in his field, to treat the first patient with a Baha device.

Cochlear reports that a total of $64,000 in scholarship funds were awarded this year. Each of the 8 students received $2,000 per year for up to 4 years at an accredited college or university, for a total of $8,000 per student. Since 2002, Cochlear has awarded $504,000 to 72 college students.

Source: Cochlear Limited