The Canadian Hearing Society (CHS) announced that it awarded a “record 17 scholarships” guaranteed for up to four years to deaf and hard-of-hearing, post-secondary students. The CHS National Scholarship Program helps to break down financial barriers for students who are often excluded from the full academic experience because of added accessibility costs, and makes it possible for these exceptional students to pursue their dream careers.
“Each CHS scholarship winner has demonstrated incredible resilience, drive, and determination to transform the future for themselves, their families, and all Canadians through the power of education,” said Julia Dumanian, President and CEO of the Canadian Hearing Society. “We are grateful to our supporters for helping us make these students’ academic dreams come true.”

A committee of deaf, hard-of-hearing, and hearing business leaders and academics reviewed applications from across Canada to determine this year’s scholarship recipients. Winners are chosen based on key criteria, including community service, letters of reference, and essays detailing how the scholarship will transform the future of deaf and hard-of-hearing individuals. Students who are eligible will be guaranteed full-time scholarships of $3,000 a year for up to four years.

“I was profoundly moved and inspired by each student’s essay,” said Committee Chair Diane Gregoris. “We are proud to support our 17 CHS National Scholarship winners and look forward to cheering them on throughout their academic journeys.”

CHS would like to thank the National Scholarship Committee for participating in the application review process. Special thanks to Diane Gregoris, 2019-2020 Chair; Dr Linda Campbell, Past Chair; Brahm Spilfogel; Jim Kyte; Lynn Lockhart-Menzies; Nigel Howard; Pam Feldman, and Rex Banks.

National Scholarship Program Funders

The names of the 2019 scholarship recipients were announced at the 4th Annual CHS President’s Scholarship Golf Tournament where all proceeds are directed back to support the National Scholarship Program.

CHS gratefully acknowledges the support of our scholarship funders: the Dr Wolf Lebovic Charitable Foundation, the Canadian Foundation For Physically Disabled Persons, the Longo’s Family Charitable Foundation, the John C. and Sally Horsfall Eaton Foundation, the Walker Wood Foundation, and all of our individual donors, Tournament Corporate Partners, and participants.

For a full list of the award winners, please click here.

Source: CHS