From left to right: Les Schmeltz, AuD, and Rebekah Cunningham, PhD, (ASHS faculty members), Jennifer Thomas and Jason Leyendecker (award winners), Henry Trahan, AuD, Tabitha Parent Buck, AuD, Tom Rigo, PhD, and Elton Bordenave, MEd, (ASHS faculty members).

AT Still University’s Arizona School of Health Sciences (ASHS), Mesa, Ariz, recently awarded its annual Audiology Foundation of America (AFA) Endowed Student Excellence Award to two of its top residential students.

The $1,000 scholarship was split between Jennifer Thomas and Jason Leyendecker, who were chosen on the basis of their clinical skills, academic standing, commitment to professional organizations, and essay on professionalism.

Jennifer Thomas is a third-year student at ASHS. She has served for three years as an officer of the ASHS chapter of the National Association of Future Doctors of Audiology (NAFDA), and also served as a student government association representative and student ambassador for AT Still.

Thomas’s third-year classmate Jason Leyendecker has also been involved with NAFDA at the local and national level, and has served in AT Still’s student government association.

Both students were honored during a special ceremony this spring at ASHS.

The AFA is a nonprofit foundation that strives to empower audiologists to be independent and autonomous practitioners.

[Source: AFA]