Los Angeles — Two House Clinic physicians, Jennifer Derebery, MD, and John W. House, MD, will be recognized by the American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery (AAO-HNS) at its annual meeting.

Jennifer Derebery, MD, physician at House Clinic and past-president of the Academy, will receive the Academy’s Presidential Citation Award.

The Academy presents Presidential Citation Awards to individuals who have had a profound influence on the president’s life and otolaryngology; the individual is chosen for outstanding contributions and dedication to the Academy and the Academy’s Foundation.

Derebery served as president of the AAO-HNS from 2003 to 2004. She was the first female president in the history of the Academy. She also serves as a clinical professor at Keck School of Medicine of USC.

In addition, John W. House, MD, physician at the House Clinic and president of House Research Institute, will receive the Distinguished Service Award from the AAO-HNS.

The Academy presents Distinguished Service Awards to medical professionals in recognition of extensive meritorious service through the presentation of instructional courses, scientific papers, participation on a continuing education committee, or an Academy leadership position.

"It has been my pleasure to work with the American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head & Neck Surgery over many years," said House, clinical professor at Keck School of Medicine of USC. "It is a great organization that represents ENT physicians in this country and many other countries. It has been my honor to serve as an officer over the past 7 years."

House has been on the Board of Directors for the AAO-HNS for the last 7 years and served as secretary/treasurer for the last 4 years.

The awards were presented at the opening ceremony of the 2011 AAO-HNS Annual Meeting & OTO EXPO, in San Francisco on September 11-14.

SOURCE: House Research Institute