Louisville, Ky — The Academy of Rehabilitative Audiology (ARA) has announced that applications for its Herbert J. Oyer Student Research Award are due May 30, 2012. The award recipient will receive complimentary registration to the 2012 ARA Institute in Providence, RI, 1-year free membership in ARA, and $1,000.

The Oyer Award supports new investigators and is meant to encourage outstanding research in the area of audiologic rehabilitation.

In addition to the cash prize and Academy membership, the student investigator selected to receive the award will be required to present their research at the ARA Institute and submit the work for publication in the Journal of the Academy of Rehabilitative Audiology.

To apply, applicants must be a student when submitted research was completed, and may be up to 1 year post graduation at the time of the judging.

Criteria for submission:

The research study must be in the area of audiologic rehabilitation, which can include research related to communication strategies, speech reading, auditory speech perception and training, hearing aids, cochlear implants, counseling, and tinnitus management.

Design of research study:
(To be graded on a 10-point scale for each item with 10 being the highest)

a. Purpose of study stated
b. Experimental hypotheses or questions stated
c. Relevant and current references cited
d. Subject variables
e. Procedures explained
f. Results reported
g. Relevance of results discussed and summarized
h. Professional writing skills and presentation
i. Use of current APA style

Applicants must also submit two letters of reference that should be e-mailed to [email protected].

Completed applications are to be submitted by May 30 via www.audrehab.org/oyer.htm. The winner will be announced by June 30, 2012.

For further information or questions, contact [email protected].

As noted, ARA will be hosting its next Institute September 9 to 11, 2012 in Providence, RI. The program will address various aspects of audiologic rehabilitation. Louise Hickson will be the keynote speaker. Other presenters currently on the program include Harvey Abrams, Theresa Chisolm, Linda Thibodeau, Jill Preminger, and Gaby Saunders. 

Submissions for podium or poster presentations in topics related to audiologic rehabilitation are being accepted until June 10, 2012.

SOURCE: The Academy of Rehabilitative Audiology (ARA)