The American Academy of Audiology Honors Committee encourages all Academy Fellows to identify those colleagues they believe have made significant contributions to the audiology profession. All nominations must be received by October 27, 2006.

To nominate an individual, a nomination packet that includes a letter of nomination addressed to the committee chair and an up-to-date resume of the nominated individual should be submitted by the deadline. Self-nominations will not be accepted. The nomination packet should include sufficient documentation as to how the nominee meets the specified criteria for the selected category. Additional letters in support of the nomination and any other documentation that will assist the Honors Committee in their decision are strongly suggested. All materials should be mailed to the Academy headquarters. 
The Committee will consider all nominations, and awards will be made to qualified candidates who receive a majority vote of the voting members of the Committee pending final approval of the Academy Board of Directors. Not all awards may be given each year. Selected recipients will be presented at AudiologyNOW! in Denver on April 18-21, 2007.

Nominations should be made in a letter format with the resume of the candidate enclosed. The nomination and all supporting materials must be received at Academy Headquarters by October 27, 2006.

Address the nomination package to:

Sheila Dalzell, Chair, Honors Committee
c/o American Academy of Audiology
11730 Plaza America Dr, Suite 300
Reston, VA 20190-4798

Award Categories

Jerger Career Award for Research in Audiology: This award is given to a senior level audiologist with a distinguished career in audiology. Candidates must have at least 20 years of research productivity in audiology (not in related field), as well as have made significant contributions to the practice and/or teaching of audiology.

Samuel F. Lybarger Award for Achievements in Industry: This award is given for significant pioneering activity (research, engineering, or teaching) within the field of hearing. This award is restricted to individuals whose achievements occurred while employed by a company or corporation in the hearing health care fields but whose contributions extended beyond their contributions to their company’s services or product and served to have a significant impact on the understanding of normal or disordered auditory systems.

International Award in Hearing: AAA has established an annual International Award to honor and recognize achievements of international significance in audiology by an audiologist, hearing scientist, or audiological physician. Nominees should be nonresidents of the US who have provided outstanding service to the profession of audiology in a clinical, academic, research or professional capacity, and be in good standing in their country.

Humanitarian Award: This award is given to an individual who has made a direct humanitarian contribution to society in the realm of hearing. This award could fit a broad category of significant service oriented activities. Candidates should have demonstrated direct and outstanding service to humanity in some way related to hearing, hearing disability, or deafness. Candidates should have demonstrated significant and consistent humanitarian contributions, preferably in matters related to hearing. 

Distinguished Achievement Award: Recipients of this new award may include audiologists who are or have been exceptional educators in the classroom or clinic, have been innovative in program development, pioneering in areas of clinical service delivery, teaching, or research, or any combination of these areas. The contributions made by the recipients of the Distinguished Achievement Award must have an impact on the profession of audiology as a whole and not just at a state or local level. More than one Distinguished Achievement Award may be awarded per year.

[SOURCE: www.audiologist.org]