AFA Chair Deborah Price, AuD (center), presents the David P. Goldstein, PhD Outstanding Audiologist Award to Larry Engelmann, AuD (right), at the opening session of the 2008 ADA Convention.

The Audiology Foundation of America (AFA), Lafayette, Ind, has presented its third David P. Goldstein, PhD, Outstanding Audiologist Award to Larry Engelmann, AuD.

The award recognizes the accomplishments of an audiologist who has made significant contributions to the profession of audiology by promoting its transformation to a doctoral profession with the AuD as its distinctive designator.

Engelmann is a private practitioner in Oklahoma City, Okla. He received his AuD from the Arizona School of Health Sciences in 2000, as part of its first graduating class. Engelmann served as a director of the AFA from 1994 to 2001, and is a past president of the ADA. He has authored and published numerous magazine articles, and has been a constant supporter of the profession’s upgrade to the AuD for more than 15 years.

The award honors Goldstein, founding chair of the AFA, for his devotion to the improvement of education for future audiologists and the promotion of the AuD degree. His leadership of the AFA for a decade shaped the profession’s ideas about how the transition to doctoring status could be achieved for working professionals, as well as career entrants. Goldstein is professor emeritus at Purdue University.

Previous winners were David Cieliczka, AuD, and Nancy N. Green, AuD.