The Academy of Rehabilitative Audiology (ARA), DeSoto, Tex, will host its annual ARA Institute on October 19-22, 2006, in Louisville, Ky, at the Seelbach Hilton Hotel. This year’s conference theme is “Honoring our past and preparing for our future: Celebrating 40 years of the Academy of Rehabilitative Audiology.” To celebrate the 40th anniversary, two past ARA presidents will be featured speakers. Dr. Julia Davis, president in 1980, will talk about the history and the future of pediatric audiologic habilitation. Dr. Jean-Pierre Gagné, president in 1996, will focus on the past, present, and future of adult audiologic rehabilitation.

ARA has a commitment to support new investigators, and encourages students to apply for the prestigious Herbert J. Oyer Award. The student selected to receive the award will present their research at the ARA Institute, and submit the work for publication in the Journal of the Academy of Rehabilitative Audiology. The award recipient will receive registration to the 2006 ARA Institute and a financial award of $1,000. The submission deadline for the Oyer Award is June 2, 2006.

For more information, visit www.audrehab.org for the Oyer Award application, and Institute registration forms.