Hearing Loss Association of America (HLAA) presented its annual national awards during its 2012 Convention this summer in Providence, RI.

Among the recipients:

The Walter T. Ridder Award was presented to David G. Myers, PhD, prior to his keynote address at the Opening Session. Myers was honored for his “Let’s Loop America Campaign” and for increasing awareness about communication access through his writing and ability to attract national media attention. The award was established in 1984 and named after Mr Ridder, whose newspaper career spanned 50 years at Knight-Ridder Inc.

The Howard E. "Rocky" Stone Humanitarian Award was given to Bea Lyons of Chattanooga, Tenn. The recipient is selected by the HLAA Board of Trustees to honor an outgoing or past trustee for his or her extraordinary contributions toward the furtherance of the objectives and personal exemplification of the philosophy envisioned by Howard E. Stone, founder of the organization.

The National Access Award was presented to Brown University, which was recognized for its disability access services. The services enable students, staff, faculty, and visitors, especially those with hearing loss, to participate fully in the programs that the university offers. The National Access Award is given to those who have provided or significantly improved communication access for people with hearing loss.

You can download a list of all the 2012 award recipients here (PDF download).

SOURCE: Hearing Loss Association of America (HLAA)