The Academy of Doctors of Audiology (ADA) has announced that Rita Chaiken, AuD, has been elected to serve as the ADA President for the 2016 program year. Dr Chaiken was officially appointed 2016 ADA President during the Opening General Session of the ADA Convention on Friday, November 13, 2015.

“I am incredibly honored to serve my peers as president of our illustrious organization,” said Dr Chaiken. “I look forward to working with ADA members and the Board of Directors to achieve ADA objectives, enhance member engagement, and continue ADA’s rich history of innovation.”

According to ADA, shepherding the Audiology Patient Choice Act through Congress, launching new educational and leadership programs, and delivering tools and resources that will help audiologists succeed in a disruptive environment are among the many initiatives that Dr Chaiken and the ADA Board will undertake in 2016.

Rita R. Chaiken, AuD, FAAA

Rita R. Chaiken, AuD, FAAA

“Dr. Chaiken’s commitment to ADA members is unrivaled, as is her dedication to advancing public policy initiatives that fulfill the ADA mission of best practices and autonomous practice in the profession of audiology,” said ADA Executive Director Stephanie Czuhajewski, CAE. “Her energy, tenacity, and entrepreneurial spirit will serve ADA well in the coming year.”

As reported by ADA, Dr Chaiken currently serves as a consultant for Atlanta Hearing Associates, a private practice with four locations in Georgia. She is an expert in cerumen management and teaches cerumen management courses. Dr Chaiken is an adjunct instructor at Salus University Osborne College of Audiology, and was named the 2014 Salus University College of Audiology Alumnus of the Year. Her previous experience includes founding a private audiology practice, which she owned and operated for 12 years, and serving on the State of Georgia Board of Examiners for Speech Pathology and Audiology. Dr Chaiken also served as a regional manager for a hearing instrument manufacturer for three years. She has been a member of ADA since 1981, and a member of the ADA Board of Directors since 2010.

Source: The Academy of Doctors of Audiology