Cochlear Limited (ASX: COH), a company that specializes in implantable hearing solutions, announced the winners of the 18 th annual Graeme Clark and the 9th annual Anders Tjellström scholarships. The scholarships, named after two pioneers of the hearing implant industry, recognize Cochlear Nucleus Implant and Baha System recipients in the United States and Canada who uphold the Cochlear ideals of leadership, humanity, and demonstrate high academic achievement, to enable recipients to further accomplish their goals through education.

“We are incredibly proud to highlight the accomplishments of these eight exemplary young individuals who have prevailed over the challenges of hearing loss to achieve their academic aspirations and become leaders in their communities,” said Rene Courtney, vice president, recipient services, Cochlear Americas. “The grants awarded will enable the winners to accomplish their goals and achieve their fullest potential. Beyond developing pioneering hearing implant technology, investing in education is an important part of our company’s commitment to the hearing community.”

The five 2020 Graeme Clark Scholarship winners are: 

  • Grace Graugnard, (Tulane University) from Geismar, Louis.
  • Kidron Martin, (University of Arizona-Honors College) from Beaufort, SC.
  • Mary Caroline Yuk (University of Alabama) from Crystal Lake, Ill.
  • Teadora Ranelli (Wesleyan University) from New Haven, Conn.
  • Young Jae Ryu (Columbia University) from Culver City, Calif.

“After a lifetime of being assisted by others, my cochlear implants have brought me one step closer to achieving independence,” said Ryu, a Nucleus Implant System recipient and Graeme Clark Scholarship winner studying mechanical engineering at Columbia University. “This scholarship will help me fulfill my dreams to one day develop new technologies to expand the horizons, hopes, and dreams of others affected by hearing loss.”

The three 2020 Anders Tjellström Scholarship winners are: 

  • Amber Vaughn, (Roanoke College) from Pittsboro, NC.
  • Conner Whitt, (Oakland University) from Clarkston, Mich.
  • Nayeli Perez-Peralta (Temple University) from Philadelphia, Penn.

“Hearing loss is something I’ve struggled with all my life. It wasn’t until I received my hearing devices in fifth grade that I was able to fully communicate with the world,” said Vaughn, a Baha System recipient and an Anders Tjellström Scholarship winner. “This award will allow me to grow my finance and management skills to give back to the community that shaped me into the person I am today.”

About the Scholarships
The Graeme Clark Scholarship is named after Professor Graeme Clark, the inventor and pioneer of the multichannel cochlear implant. The Anders Tjellström Scholarship is named after Anders Tjellström, the research physician in the department of otolaryngology at the Sahlgrenska University Hospital in Sweden who collaborated with Per-Ingvar Brånemark, a pioneer in his field, to treat the first patient with a Baha device.

Each of the students will receive $2,000 per year for up to four years at an accredited college or university, providing $8,000 to each student and $64,000 in total scholarship funds given by Cochlear Americas for this year’s winners. Since 2002, Cochlear Americas has awarded $760,000 to 104 college students. 

A total of 111 applications were received this year. An esteemed panel of judges helped review and select the scholarship winners, including:

For more information about the scholarships, visit:

Source: Cochlear

Image: Cochler