January 22, 2008

DALLAS — UT Dallas has established a committee to pick a recipient of the first Callier Prize. The $10,000 prize will be awarded to an individual who has made substantial contributions in the areas of audiology and hearing science.

Part of the University’s School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences, the Callier Center is one of the nation’s pre-eminent educational, research and treatment centers focusing on hearing, speech and language disorders.  In 2007, U.S. News & World Report ranked UT Dallas’ audiology program fifth in the nation.

Committee members were chosen for their expertise in audiology and the hearing sciences after an international search.  The UT Dallas scholars selected were:

  • James Jerger, PhD, Distinguished Scholar-in-Residence, in the School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences.
  • Aage Moller, PhD, Professor, Margaret Fonde Jonsson Chair, in the School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences.
  • Ross J. Roeser, PhD, Callier Prize Committee Chairman, Professor of communication sciences in the School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences.
  • Linda Thibodeau, PhD, Professor, School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences.
  • Emily Tobey, PhD, Nelle C. Johnston Chair in Communication Disorders at the Callier Advanced Hearing Research Center.

They will be joined by:

  • Stig Arlinger, MSc, PhD,  Linköping University, Sweden.
  • Deborah Hayes, PhD, The Children’s Hospital, Denver.
  • Donald Henderson, PhD, The University at Buffalo, The State University of New York.
  • Jon F. Miller, PhD, University of Wisconsin-Madison.
  • Brian Moore, PhD, University of Cambridge, England.
  • Peter S. Roland, MD, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas.

Callier is accepting nominations for the award through February. The committee will meet in Dallas in March to select a candidate. The award is accompanied by $10,000 in cash.

The prize will be given annually to an individual who has shown outstanding contributions to the fields of audiology, speech pathology or language pathology. The first winner will come from the field of audiology and will be recognized at a conference planned and hosted by the Foundation for the Callier Center in spring 2009.

To nominate an individual for the award, send the nominee’s name and a summary of his or her contributions to the science of audiology to Dr. Roeser at [email protected].

Source: UTD-Callier