The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) has announced its 2012 Award recipients. The honorees will receive their awards at the 2012 ASHA Convention held in Atlanta, November 15 to 17, 2012.

The following is a list of the winners and a brief description of the award. The October 30 issue of The ASHA Leader will also include further information about the honorees.

The Honors of the Association recognizes members for their distinguished contributions to the discipline of communication sciences and disorders and is the highest honor the Association bestows. For 2012, the award goes to:

  • Christine Ann Dollaghan
  • Donna Geffner
  • Roy A. Koenigsknecht
  • Susan Langmore
  • JoAnne Robbins
  • Connie Tompkins
  • Richard H. Wilson

The Fellowship of the Association Award is one of the highest honors ASHA bestows. To be awarded Fellow, the nominee must have made outstanding contributions to the discipline of communication sciences and disorders. The winners this year are:

  • Nancy Brady
  • Gilson Capilouto
  • Giselle Carnaby-Mann
  • Neil J. DiSarno
  • Martin Fischer
  • Carol Fleming
  • Robert Allen Fox
  • Christine Freiberg
  • Mary Anne Hanner
  • Monica Strauss Hough
  • Deborah Hwa-Froelich
  • Jack Jiang
  • Margaret Johnson
  • Judith Palm Keller
  • Harriet Klein
  • Janet Koehnke
  • Gregory Lof
  • Rosemary Martino
  • Martha Simpson McDade
  • Dee Adams Nikjeh
  • Julie Noel
  • Cathy Pelletier
  • Susan Rvachew
  • Vivian Sisskin
  • Ann Bosma Smit
  • Nancy Solomon
  • David Sorensen
  • Pamela Souza
  • Teresa Ukrainetz
  • Rebecca Weaver

The Dorothy Dreyer Award for Volunteerism award may be given annually to one individual who has made significant and outstanding volunteer contributions to ASHA and serves as a model of volunteerism to others. It was the founder’s wish that this award be used to acknowledge the volunteer time and efforts of current ASHA members who, through employment and/or life constraints, may not have been afforded the opportunity to hold one of the highest elected positions in ASHA. The 2012 award has been given to Vicki McCready.

Cara Stepp is the recipiant of the Early Career Contributions in Research Award Early Career Contributions in Research Award, which acknowledges significant scientific accomplishments by individuals beyond the dissertation and within five years of receiving their doctoral degree or other terminal degree. This award may be given to an individual or individuals under contract with an institution of higher education or other institution where research in communication sciences and disorders and sciences is being conducted.

The Certificate of Recognition for Special Contributions in Multicultural Affairs is designed to signify distinguished achievement and contributions as evidenced by significant recent accomplishments in speech-language pathology and/or audiology and hearing, language, or speech science in any of the following areas within three years preceding nomination: multicultural professional education, multicultural research, or clinical service to multicultural populations. This year, ASHA has recognized Nidhi Mahendra.

The Certificate of Recognition for Outstanding Contribution in International Achievement is designed to recognize distinguished achievements and significant contributions in the area of communication disorders revealing great international impact from the work. ASHA members and non-members are eligible based on their work in international education, publications, research, program development, administration, or service delivery to persons with communication disorders. For 2012, ASHA has named Travis Threats as the sole honoree.

SOURCE: The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA)