Bernafon Inc.

Three new members have joined the technical support team.

Amy Richardson will be a member of the Technical Support & Service team. She has a BS in Audiology & Speech Science and an MA from the Univ. of Illinois. Richardson has three years of experience in the field.

Deanna Serrano is a staff member of the Audiology Technical Support team. She has a BA in Communicative Disorders and a Master’s degree in Audiology from the Univ. of Wisconsin–Stevens Point. Serrano has five years of clinical & dispensing experience.

Karen Tanveer will be part of the technical support team. She graduated from the Univ. of Minnesota with a BS in Speech & Hearing Science. She is board certified in Hearing Instrument Science and has two years of experience in dispensing hearing instruments.

Electone Inc.

Renee Morgan, MS, has joined Electone as staff audiologist. She is a graduate of Purdue Univ. and will be responsible for internal technical training, supporting the sales and customer service team, developing software and serving on the product development team. She will also develop new product training and support programs for dispensing audiologists and hearing instrument specialists. Morgan has more than four years of experience in software support, quality assurance and regional sales. Her previous experience was directing and managing early infant hearing screening programs.

Gennum Corporation

The company announces several changes in the management team. 

Ian L. McWalter has been appointed as president and CEO . He has been with the company since 1991, serving first as vice president of research and development, then as vice president of manufacturing and later as executive vice president and COO. His previous experience has been managing integrated circuit design and development.

Michael R. Fielding has been appointed as executive vice president and COO. David L. Lynch will be the vice president and general manager of the Video and Broadcasting Products division. Gora Ganguli will serve as the vice president and general manager of the Hearing Instrument Products division. Lynch and Ganguli will report to Fielding. All three appointees have held senior management positions within Gennum.

Diana Szasz is the new product manager for Hearing Instruments Products division. She will manage the programmable analog hearing product line including DynamEQII Programmables and the Foundation Series product line. Szasz graduated from Technical Univ. of Budapest with a master’s degree in engineering. She has worked for seven years in the Quality Assurance department and three years in Hybrid Product/Process Engineering department at Gennum.


Kathy Young has been appointed to serve as regional sales manager. She graduated from St. Cloud State Univ. with a BS in Communication Disorders and earned her MS in audiology from the Univ. of Wisconsin. She worked as a dispensing audiologist for a hearing health care clinic prior to joining Micro-Tech.

Cantel Medical Corp.

Joseph M. Cohen has been elected to serve on the board of directors. He has several years of experience in the health care and technology industry. Currently, he is a director of Citimeals-on-Wheels and the Glaucoma Foundation. 

Cohen earned a BS in Economics from the Wharton School of the Univ. of Pennsylvania and a Master’s degree in Economics from Columbia Univ.

American Academy of Audiology

Angela Loavenbruck, EdD, has been elected to serve as president-elect for 2001. She plans to work on professional education for audiology, practice standards, lobbying and legislative initiatives, and reimbursement issues when she becomes Academy president in 2002. Loavenbruck has served on the Academy’s Board of Directors since 1995. Currently she chairs the Reimbursement Committee and owns a private practice. She holds a doctorate degree in audiology from Teachers College – Columbia Univ. Her term will begin on Jan. 1, 2001. 

Richard Gans, PhD, Catherine Palmer, PhD, and Gail Whitelaw, PhD, have been elected as Academy Board Members-At-Large. They will begin their three year terms on Jan. 1, 2001.